The Original and #1 Website for Security Guard Training
Online Security Guard Training and Career Center
Welcome to Security Guard Training Headquarters! We have everything you need to make your life easier as you begin your career as a security guard officer. State specific training requirements, a step-by-step hiring process, potential employers and interviews to help you get hired are just some of the helpful things you'll find here.
The Connecticut's Department of Public Safety is in charge of registering and overseeing security guards in the state of Connecticut.
Your first step is to apply to become a security guard at the company of your choice. Before you can begin work as a security guard, however, you must first obtain a Security Officer Certification Identification Card.
To get your card, you must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Never have been previously convicted of a felony
- Be of good moral character
- Complete an 8-hour training course by an approved instructor
As mentioned on the Department of Public Safety website, “Applicants for Security Officer Certification Identification Card must complete a course of instruction approved by the Commissioner of Public Safety, at their expense. The course is offered by private instructors and involves classroom criminal justice training. Upon completion of the course, the instructor signs off on the reverse side of the application form DPS 135-C. The application form and fingerprints are then submitted to the Special License and Firearms Unit. The Security Officer card is good for 2 years unles
s suspended or revoked.”
s suspended or revoked.”
After you finish your security guard training and get the proper forms from your instructor, your employer is responsible for making sure that you become registered. Here is a list of instructors who are approved by the Commissioner of Public Safety:
The cost of obtaining the certification card is $100.00.
There is an additional cost for fingerprint cards (State & FBI) which are required to do a background check. Two Cashiers Checks or Money Orders in the amount of $ 50.00 and $19.25 shall be made payable to the Department of Public Safety.
Your employer should have a form to fill out for registration, however if they do not have a copy (they really should), you can download it from the Department of Public Safety form section here.
Search for security guard training company in your area!
Top 10 Security Interview Tips
Learn exactly what security
guard employers want to
hear from you!
Download this FREE eBook
now by entering your email
- Which Security Guard Test Study Method is Right for You?
- 4 Study Tips for Your Security Guard Test
- Tips for Security Guards That Want to Ask for a Raise
- Fight or Flight – What Does it Mean for a Security Guard
- Manage Your Online Reputation in Preparation for a Security Guard Job
- Top 8 Ways to be a Great Security Guard
- Life Insurance for Security Guards
- How to Write a Detailed Incident Report
- Security Guard Users Taser and Fans Raise Money for New Equipment
- How to Handle Yourself as a Security Guard Under Pressure